54 Olds Aluminum Radiator

Search this Thread

Old June 24th, 2018, 08:59 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

54 Olds Aluminum Radiator

After several years and too many $$, I think I have finally solved the cooling issues with my 54 Olds. This all started when I installed the AC about 3 years ago. I had the radiator recored to a 3 core which really did nothing for the car. Then I ran a 19 inch 6 blade fan. It helped a little. Then I switched to an electric fan with a shroud. I also added a pusher fan in front. It helped but you still couldn't run the air in the Texas heat when you needed it. I bought one cross flow radiator and had to have the inlet modified because it was right in front of my AC compressor. It looked so goofy I decided not to use it. I studied aluminum radiators and nobody makes one for a 54 Olds or I would have bought it to begin with. What I wound up with was an aluminum radiator for a 68 Dodge Coronet. It had the flanges on the side and was the correct width. It was a little shorter but the outlet was on the drivers side like it had to be and the inlet was a little off center to the drivers side where the Olds was in the center of the tank. Since the outlet was 1 1/2 inches I used a bushing on the bottom and was able to cut about 2 inches off the lower hose and use it. I used a 14" flex hose on top and it all worked. Since I had about a 5 inch gap below the radiator I fabbed a small panel to go there to block the air and force it all through the radiator. I worked on this thing all day yesterday. Of course I thought it would take about 2 hours. The 19 inch 6 blade fan was too big so I had to go back to the original 4 blade fan. I will take some measurements and see if I can get a 6 blade fan that will work. I looked at the 3 core radiator I took out of the car and believe it had too many fins in it to the point air could barely move through it. I took the car out today in the 97 degree weather and with the air off it ran 180 degrees on the highway. With