Other Oldsmobiles Anything not listed above, such as F-85 (1961-1963), Firenza (1982-1988), Starfire (1961-66 and 1975-80), Omega, etc.

'62 F85 convertible questions.

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 2019, 10:49 PM

'62 F85 convertible questions.

After years of casually looking, my near dream car has come up for sale. A 1962 Oldsmobile F85 convertible with a 4 speed not needing complete restoration, or major repairs. I am by no means new to cars, or vintage cars as I have owned and repaired, restored and DRIVEN many. However I am new to the type. I have learned to go and ask the experts on the gotchas and places to look for problems. I have found the most convenient place to find these sort of people is online forums, so here I am.

I have scoured my reference books and the internet, so I have gotten started up to speed, but I need more. What are the places to look for problems on a '62 F85 convertible? I have learned that there can be cooling issues and that the rear quarter panels seem to be prone to rot. What other weak spots?

The particular car I'm interested in has a 4 speed tranny and I'm wondering what the factory accessory code is for that option if it existed. The seller says it's factory, but I want to confirm as there have been some mods to the car and I wonder if the trans has been grafted from some other car. I looked everywhere on the internet for another photo of a 1962 Olds F85 with a 4 seed and couldn't find one. For sure the car has had these mods-
  • Conversion to four wheel disc brakes including dual circuit master cylinder.
  • Ford 8" positraction rear end.
  • Five lug wheels and tires.
  • Aftermarket dual exhaust.
  • AM/FM radio.
  • Chrome plating of items under the hood.