Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

Bang blow suck: non Olds

Search this Thread

Old August 15th, 2018, 07:40 PM

Bang blow suck: non Olds

Guys this has nothing to do with An Olds engine but I have a lot of respect for the experience on this site and the problem is petty basic stuff to any 4 stroke engine. I would appreciate any comments.

The problem I am having is with a 1988 AMC 360 in a Jeep Grand Wagoneer I am restoring. ( the online Jeep,forums do not compare to the experience and advice on this site for Olds enthusiasts.). Here is a little history. The Wagoneer sat for several years before I purchased it and the owner stated that there was an intermittent problem with the engine running/not running. The odometer reads 140k but I do not believe this is the original engine, so mileage unknown. After I purchased I found a cracked fuel line on the suction side of the fuel pump. I repaired the line and he engine started relatively easily. Although I did not run it for long periods of time I started and ran the engine on and off over the coarse of 1 year as I performed other restoration work. It started and ran fine. There was some blue smoke I attributed to valve seals that would clear up after the engine warmed up. The engine ran well and idled fine but seemed to lack power. After some resto work I turned my attention to tuning the engine. I replace all maint. Items like plugs, wires, filters hoses etc and took it out for a test drive. Low power deteriorated to missing and backfiring within 1/4 mile and I barely made it back home until it died and would not restart.
Since then I have:
replaced ignition with HEI due to no/weak spark. Also chased various wiring gremlins associated with this problem. Ignition problem is resolved and now have consistent 12 vt to Distributor and good blue spark at the plugs.