Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

swap from 350 rocket to LS.

Search this Thread

Old June 21st, 2017, 05:15 PM

swap from 350 rocket to LS.

So I'm a total newbie. I have my hands on a 73 cutlass supreme with a 350 rocket. It has sat about 8-10 years with out running. The carburetor has been off just as long. The more I look into the rebuild and construction of the current stock 350 versus buying a LS type engine. The more I am leaning towards going the LS route. Can anyone tell me from their experience the pros and cons here. Keep in mind I am not restoring this car with the intention of selling it. I plan on keeping this one. Thanks
Old June 21st, 2017, 08:45 PM

Is there anything wrong with the engine apart from it having sat for so long? If not, cleanup/rebuild the carb, follow some simple pre-start maintenance including priming the oil and get it running.
Old June 23rd, 2017, 07:33 AM

The rocket rebuild is certainly more strait forward.
But I've got 2 LS swaps, and if you're going to keep it, use it as a daily driver, you cant beat an LS and OD trans for reliability, drivability, gas mileage. BTW, my gas mileage nearly doubled on both swaps, and now I just turn the key and drive it like a newer car.
There are plenty of people doing them, so you wont have to invent or fabricate much any more. The most complex part would probably be wiring and fuel system. But those components can be bought if you don't want to do your own.
My 72 swap:
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-iii-swap.html
Old June 23rd, 2017, 09:21 PM