Proud new owner and new to the forums! Need a little help.

Search this Thread

Old January 9th, 2009, 11:09 AM
Hangin' out...

Talking Proud new owner and new to the forums! Need a little help.

Hi everyone! I'm a new Oldsmobile owner and a new member of the forum. I've been in love with the 1980-84 Nintey-Eight sedans for a long time, and I found a survivor 1983 with just over 88K miles on it. It's got the 307 and supposedly a rebuilt 200-R4. Overall very clean. I'm new to Oldsmobiles, but not to older cars, especially GM.

I have a bunch of questions and I was hoping I could get some help! I know that these are pretty generic automotive questions, but I was hoping that I could learn more about the "quirks" of these cars, which is why I'm here. I know that you've seen it all!

1. The engine has an oil leak. Looking under the car, there's droplets of oil all over the pan. Is it safe to assume that I need a new pan gasket? Can I try just tightening the pan bolts and can I do that without lifting the engine. Any other common leaks with the 307?

2. When I start the car and upon acceleration, there is a "jingling" metallic sound coming from under the car. It sounds like a loose catalytic converter shield or maybe a bad converter. Anyone run into this? Also, I hear a "popping" sound on deceleration. Exhaust leak maybe?

3. The power door locks and dome light are one the same circuit. It blows a fuse almost immediately blows. I know I could have a bad door jamb switch, door lock switch, or maybe a frayed wire causing a short. From the experience of the many owners here, are there any parts on these cars that were prone to causing shorts?

4. I would like to upgrade the front sway bar and add a rear bar. Is this possible and can those parts be "borrowed" from maybe a 9C1 caprice or something like that? Any websites with interchange info?

5. What is the wheel bolt pattern? Is it 5x5" or 5x4.75"?

Thanks so much in advance!

-Henry
Old January 9th, 2009, 11:32 AM

Welcome