The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Overheating 455

Search this Thread

Old February 26th, 2015, 08:27 AM

Thumbs down Overheating 455

I have a 1938 Cadillac 60 special with a 455 Oldsmobile V-8. The engine was completely rebuilt by a local machine shop. The only mods are an Edelbrock 2130 Intake, and HEI Distributor and an Edelbrock mild camshaft. When we started the engine for the first time it got boiling hot in a short time. Is there a difference in water pumps for the 455? I'm using the recored 38 Cad radiator.
I appreciate any help I can get.
thanks!
Old February 26th, 2015, 08:28 AM
major noob

Do you have a fan on it
Old February 26th, 2015, 08:31 AM

I have a pusher electric fan on the radiator, none on the engine because the lower hose is to close to the water pump.
Old February 26th, 2015, 08:35 AM
major noob

I'm no expert but check for blockages and check your thermostat it may not be working
Old February 26th, 2015, 08:38 AM
morgan

your problem may be a combination of new build and application... if the rebuild was tight with piston/bore clearance its going to run a little warm and should settle down if the machining was done properly 2nd, your radiator/waterpump/shroud and the distance from waterpump/fan to radiator may be a problem because its a caddy
Old February 26th, 2015, 09:01 AM

I had a 160 degree thermostat in the engine when it overheated, took the thermostat out and the engine still over heated. There is no fan on the engine, just the pusher in front of the radiator.
Old February 26th, 2015, 09:03 AM

Would there be an advantage to a high volume water pump? I'm usint an OEM pump now.
Old February 26th, 2015, 09:12 AM
Administrator

How short of a time? If it was shorter than what it normally would take for an engine to warm up, quite possibly you have an air pocket in there.
Old February 26th, 2015, 09:17 AM