The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Possible Oldsmobile Engine Ideas For A Hot Rod Project.

Search this Thread

Old March 2nd, 2013, 02:17 PM

Possible Oldsmobile Engine Ideas For A Hot Rod Project.

OK, here is the deal. I am new to working on cars. I grew up around classics and I have always wanted one and finally managed to purchase and 1956 Oldsmobile Super 88. I want to make it into a rod.

I want to keep my car Oldsmobile specific. With that in mind I need an ideas on possible Oldsmobile engines that would be great for a Hot Rod project. Details and specifics would be great. Again, keep in mind I am new to all of this and am looking for information from people willing to be helpful.
Old March 2nd, 2013, 03:16 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by RCKTMan
OK, here is the deal. I am new to working on cars. I grew up around classics and I have always wanted one and finally managed to purchase and 1956 Oldsmobile Super 88. I want to make it into a rod.

I want to keep my car Oldsmobile specific. With that in mind I need an ideas on possible Oldsmobile engines that would be great for a Hot Rod project. Details and specifics would be great. Again, keep in mind I am new to all of this and am looking for information from people willing to be helpful.
The first gen Olds V8s are very cool and bolt into your car. These were the small block Chevies of their day and there were tons of aftermarket parts available for them. Many of these can be found today used, particularly multi-carb intakes that look very cool. Ross Racing Engines also sells new aftermarket parts for the first gen Olds motors, including aluminum heads. The stock automatics aren't great but you can get adapters to bolt up modern GM automatics.
Old March 2nd, 2013, 03:41 PM