The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Newbie here

Search this Thread

Old December 1st, 2012, 05:08 PM

Newbie here

Hello folks, I'm new to the CO forum and new to restoring cars. I'm only 21 but I love classic muscle cars, I have a 1970 cutlass supreme and a 1971 Chrysler Newport. I had a 69 impala too but I didn't have enough room so I had to get rid of it. My cutlass is in pretty rough shape and needs resto and I've decided it's about time to start some work. The thing is I don't even know where to start, I know it's gonna take a lot of time and money but its definitely worth it in the end. I've been looking at parts from year one and opgi, I was wondering if there were any other good sites for parts for a decent price. Also any idea where the best place would be to get a new 350 crate to drop in. Here's a picture of the cutlass now, I know most of you are gonna hate the rims but I got a really good deal on them and had to replace the ones that came on it (cracked rim) so please take it easy on me, I'm just here to learn as much as I can so I can return the favor one day to somebody else. Thanks for any help and input it's greatly appreciated. - Dylan

*ill have to upload the pictures later bc my computer is acting up
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
image.jpg (122.8 KB, 17 views)
Old December 1st, 2012, 07:26 PM
GM Enthusiast

Welcome to CO! Nice looking car. Some suggestions: I would sit down and create a list of items that needs attention and then you can prioritize it. Parts can be ordered from Fusick's, they are an excellent source. Never ordered from Year One or OPGI but I would think they are good sources too. Other places exist where you might save a few $$$ like Brothers Auto, Tamraz and the Parts Place but some people here have complained about their customer service.