The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

1971 Cutlass S Project Newbie

Search this Thread

Old November 27th, 2018, 06:11 AM

1971 Cutlass S Project Newbie

Hi Everyone - Just picked up a 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass S, that the previous owner tried to clone into a 442.
I am totally new in regards to classics. I've owned a few Corvettes, mostly C5 Z06s, and recently a C6 Z06. They were all modded, with at least headers, intakes, tunes etc.; two had cams - great cars. I sold the C6 Z06 last month to help fund a kitchen renovation. I thought about getting a cheaper C5 Z06, but feel like I've been there already and I've always had a thing for the late 60s, early 70s pure American muscle cars.

I looked for either a Cutlass or a Buick Skylark. My budget was right around $2-2.5k. Seemed like everything was rusted/rotted, shell, or not running in that price range. I came across this 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass S, about an hour from my house. Asking price was $4500, but I ended up getting it for $2,400. Maybe you guys can weigh in on whether it was a good buy or not...

It's red, which I am not a fan of and will eventually be repainted; has the stock Rocket 350 with Holley intake and carb that knocks very loudly - I think it's a rod knock. Still starts, runs and drives, but not a lot of power. Has metal flakes in oil. Has had the rear trunk pan and quarters redone already; aftermarket fiberglass hood; heater core is out; interior seats are in good condition but have been reupholstered - maybe a kit, since I found the white headrest skins in the trunk; it's a one legger, but best of all it's a 4 speed!

Thank you in advance and I look forward to learning and chatting with you all. I will try to upload some pictures.

Konrad

Last edited by konrad; November 27th, 2018 at 06:14 AM.
Old November 27th, 2018, 06:18 AM