The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

New from Lincoln, NE. Quest to find my dad's 64' F85

Search this Thread

Old January 30th, 2018, 08:55 PM

New from Lincoln, NE. Quest to find my dad's 64' F85

Hello all!
**I'm sorry for my long story, but it feels good to tell someone who at least may be interested in my story

I am brand new to the Oldsmobile scene and I have to say, I have not been this motivated about a car in several years. (I'm only 22.) Back in highschool I fell in love with my first car... I was 17 and with a little help from my parents (mostly my dad) I was the proud new owner of a 1996 Z28 Camaro. My Z28 had the LT1, 6 speed T56 trans, and black leather interior with T-Tops, this thing was nice. And I must add... at the time I had the fastest car among my friends by a long shot. Through high school I spent most of my time reading LS1tech (forum for all things LS, and some LT1 tech in the back.) I spent a lot of time cruising O st with my buddies, and meanwhile I slowly modified my Z. It started mostly stock and by the time I was a senior it had heads, cam, intake, new clutch, driveshaft, axles, longtubes, and of course, slicks. I had a ton of fun with that car. And I can't forget to mention my parents were furious with every dollar I spent on that darn thing. Being a stubborn high school kid I thought they were just mean parents that wouldn't let me spend my hard earned money how I wanted... lol. Well after high school I went off to college and I got a daily so that my car could sit in the garage and avoid the weather (hard to drive a camaro with slicks 2 hours down the road to college.)