The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Newbie with new 1951 Rocket 98 Deluxe

Search this Thread

Old July 7th, 2017, 10:12 PM

Newbie with new 1951 Rocket 98 Deluxe

Hello to all! So I literally just completed the purchase of my 1951 Olds 98 Deluxe Rocket today and hope to have it delivered next week. I've been pursuing this car now for over 6 months so am thrilled that I was finally able to come to terms with the owner. Kind of interesting story with it, was originally purchased in Little Rock Arkansas in May 1951 (I have all of the original documents) and before the buyer could take delivery he passed away. The widow asked the dealer to store the car for her which he did for 18 years, running it once a month and otherwise storing it in a heated garage at the dealership. When the widow passed away the estate sold it to a fellow who brought it up here to Canada. The fellow I purchased from, technically the third owner, bought it in 1978 with only 1425 miles on the odometer. From that time until 2005 he only added another 15,000 miles which was mostly just club outings and one cross Canada tour in 1995. The car currently has 16,700 miles on it but, although stored indoors, has suffered severe paint crackling and the engine won't start (turns over and was fogged when stored so pretty confident she will go). No visible rust and interior seems to be in relatively good shape outside of some stains and mildew smells. Anyhow that's where I'm at, can't wait to take delivery and looking for advice from all of the olds experts out there. Never had a car of this vintage and particularly 6 volt electricals. Not sure if I'm attaching the pics properly but should point out that it's a true 20' car (nope...not even 10'!!), up close the paint is rough!

Cheers,
Ron

Last edited by 51Rocket; July 7th, 2017 at 10:15 PM.
Old July 8th, 2017, 02:51 AM
Frank Ignachuck

It's beautiful!!