The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Hi - Newbie & Inexperienced DIY Mechanic

Search this Thread

Old July 4th, 2017, 08:46 PM

Hi - Newbie & Inexperienced DIY Mechanic

It's great to be here at Classic Oldsmobile. I've found this forum quite useful so far, having read many useful threads.

I'm fairly new to car repair - I am 20 and bought my first car less than a year ago . I had been searching for a first car for months, looking for perhaps a Buick Regal or Buick Lesabre, or a Crown Victoria, based off of what I read about inexpensive cars that are less of a hassle to maintain with plentiful parts.

It's kind of a funny story, I had ridden along with my dad in his '03 Silverado on the way downtown and saw this '90s white car sitting in the grass under a car port. I honestly thought, "Wow, that is one ugly car" (it had a front grille that consisted of two small ovals that looked like squinty eyes close together).

Then one day, my dad got a Hyundai ad flyer in the mail - one of those scratch-off "You win a giftcard/TV/new car" scams - he said "Hey, it can't hurt to look."

After a couple hours of getting the runaround from a salesman at the dealership, we went and took a look at that ugly white car. It turned out to be a 1998 Oldsmobile 88! I had read a lot about how reliable Buick 3800 engines are, and while the car looked ugly to me, it was in great mechanical (and electrical as it turns out) condition. It just needed a new valve cover gasket and for the rear quarter panel to be straightened out so that a new tail light would fit in. I bought it for $800 that day.