The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

New Member looking for advice on purchasing a 1951 Super 88

Search this Thread

Old September 12th, 2019, 07:22 PM

New Member looking for advice on purchasing a 1951 Super 88

Hey! Really happy I found this forum, was worried there wouldn't be a good source of information for this car.

So to start this off, I have no particular experience or attachment to 1950s oldsmobiles, but I have always appreciate there style and build. I wasn't even looking for one when this one came to my attention and its actually being offered as a trade for my 1982 Austin Mini. And well the owners been super helpful I wanted to get some information from a 3rd party before I commit to the trade.

So the trade to start is a bit weird my mini is only worth roughly $8,000-$11,000 and the seller who currently has a ridiculous amount of classic cars is willing to do a straight over trade even though hes telling me reportedly the value of the super 88 is around $14,000-$16,000 in current condition and could obtain a valuation over $20,000 once the relatively minor amount of repairs are done. I've seen the car and its registration in person and talked to the owner in length, the deal is legit, he just wants a mini and happens to have this super 88 he doesn't need.

All prices converted to equivalent USD values.

The story on the car is that its a recent barn find in the last few years. Assumed it was stored for roughly 30 years at the time of discovery. Motor and frame are matching serials as well. It currently needs a out of province inspection (basically a over glorified safety inspection) as it was last registered in another province.

Couple notes on Condition I made when I was checking the car over.

Front and rear chrome bumpers faded and peeling, dented or significant rust pushing through on several areas.
Front window is completely trashed.