The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

My Inherited New Ride

Old October 27th, 2017, 07:07 AM
'59 Olds Super 88 Project

My Inherited New Ride

I’ll start off by saying I am a newbie to the whole forum platform too, but wanted to join here to see if there are any tips and tricks I can learn as my story takes me to uncharted territory. Story: I’ve recently inherited my Great Grandpapy’s last ride. It’s a 1959 Oldsmobile Super 88 Holiday Hardtop Coup and has 12,685 original miles and last evidence of being driven is the license plate that is stickered 1974. The interior is in mint condition as you would expect to see any car with such limited mileage, the exterior is in great shape, no dents, body lines are all straight with surface rust in some minor areas and on the under carriage and in the engine bay. The car has been stored in an enclosed garage for the past 43 years. My question: What is the best course to take…keep it as original as possible…modify and upgrade suspension and break assemblies, keep original wheels or slap some Cragers on there, get it running with what is there or swap our the engine and tranny and rock an LS fuel injected and new tranny?

Thoughts?
Old October 27th, 2017, 07:26 AM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

With only 12,685 miles on it, leave it totally original. The popularity of original cars is probably at an all time high.
Old October 27th, 2017, 07:54 AM

Yes, its your car but to modify something that original and in that condition would be like fingernails on a chalkboard! I'd clean it up, change out all fluids, belts, hoses. Go through the brakes, inspect the steering/suspension and enjoy it!

There are some members here who know a lot about the 1959's. I'd like to change your title and put the year in there. That might bring more people who know this vintage to your thread. Is that OK with you?

John
Old October 27th, 2017, 08:00 AM
Randy C.