The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

I'm looking for a 350 Long Block for a W31 Cutlass 1969

Search this Thread

Old November 18th, 2011, 01:39 PM

I'm looking for a 350 Long Block for a W31 Cutlass 1969

I am a newbie with a 69 Cutlass W31 project on the go. I am currently looking for a 350 Long block for a W31.
Anyone have one for sale or know of a good place?
I live in Canada, but an happy to make a trek.
I am actually in need of several major parts, but the block is where I'm starting.

Thanks
Old November 18th, 2011, 02:08 PM

welcome to CO. post pictures if you can.

i will have a complete 69 W-31 engine for sale at some point in time. likely will not be till next summer. it is from Carb to pan and 4 speed flywheel to harmonic balancer. if i remember right it has the accessories and pulleys still on it. may also be sold with the air cleaner and bumper scoops. i have no idea what the price will be yet but it won't be cheep. it is located in Indiana.
Old November 18th, 2011, 03:15 PM

The long block itself shouldn't be too hard to find. The #5 heads EXTERNALLY are the same, so if your "project" isn't a mega-dollar (W-31s can be) car you can use "normal" '69 vintage stuff. The intake is also not exotic like the '70 version. I hate to tell you, but the two pricey items ARE hard to find-----they are the carb. #255 (one of which I just sold to complete a very special car) and the harmonic balancer. The carbs are out there and can run you $1000.00 and up for a real one and the balancers are also out there and probably will be in the same price range. When the breather is installed nobody can see the carb., but anyone who knows W-31s will automatically look at the balancer and will know if it is real or not. I have 1 carb. (definitely NOT for sale) and 1 balancer (also definitely NOT for sale).