The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

confused how where HP ratings chagned from 350 to 350?

Search this Thread

Old April 9th, 2015, 11:47 AM

confused how where HP ratings chagned from 350 to 350?

Hello,

I purchased a 1972 cutlass "S" from in front of the auto parts store. I read a lot about the car as I am fairly obsessed with it. I am not a professional mechanic. I am a dedicated rookie with lots of back yard experience. Currently i have pulled the original 72 350 engine out of the car by removing most of the front of the car to make room to pull it out. so long story shorter. I got two options on re manufactured log blocks, for what I would consider reasonable prices. My car was originally identified by engine code as the 160 HP 2 barrel single exhaust small block. I have a new intake 3711 and really nice 4brl Quadrajet that came of a rallye 350. Here is my question.

The two choices I have for longblock 350's I can acquire is either a identical 160HP Engine Code vin H or a Engine Code vinK which according to the chart i found is K which says = 350-4bbl V8 180 hp.

I am planning on driving this car a bunch. Almost daily around town. I am not a race car driver or an engine builder beyond bolting on heads and intakes. I do care though and want the car run good, I want to make sure it does live up to its rep as A body muscle car and be worthy of the Oldsmobile brand name. The HP rating increase I understand is not a big deal, how ever, I am curious to how the higher HP was obtained in the 350's using the K code, is the only difference the 4brl carb ? Both engines cost the same but if the K engine code engine is a little beefier or has some different style dish or higher compression ratio or something, i would like to go with it I believe.