Piecing together my dream 71 Supreme

Search this Thread

Old January 10th, 2016, 03:55 PM

Piecing together my dream 71 Supreme

Hey folks! I'm Ric, I have a '71 Cutlass Supreme, and I've been posting on here off and on for a few years now. I bought my car when I was in college and used it as my DD from August 2013 until now. Recently my situation has changed. I graduated college, bought a house (with a garage&#128518, and have been working my *** off to get everything in order. Some of you know my story with this car, and I believe I left a forum open ended. Well I'm going to start over and reintroduce this project. I now have a clear vision for this car, and I have an idea of a realistic budget (FREE!!).

Last edited by eazy; January 10th, 2016 at 04:19 PM.
Old January 10th, 2016, 04:07 PM
Administrator

Ok, perked my interest, free is always good.
Old January 10th, 2016, 04:17 PM

continued...

So here's what I got:

I bought this '71 off of a friend locally (Southeast PA car). It has a history in this area, and it was somewhat modified according to trends over the years. It's a 350 4bbl with 350turbo. Both appear to be original to the car, and I don't care if they are or not. I believe it's a non posi 2.56 rear. PS PB AC car. Originally puke green with a white top.

It's been modified as follows:

Unknown brand HEI
New MSD wires
Bench seat (Malibu?)
2 1/4" exhaust system from stock manifolds
Edelbrock electric choke carb on stock intake w/ 3" filter
New timing set (2014)
New rear springs and shocks
265 tires in rear

I love this car, it's been great to me. Only failed to start once after a long winter. I just parked it in my new garage for its first winter there. I drove this car over 12,000 miles the past 2 years, and it's time to tear it apart and give it a good overhaul!!

Some of the current issues are such:

1)Power steering box is leaking from the thread tappings...Needs to go, it's jeep box time.