64 F85 Proooject

Search this Thread

Old February 8th, 2012, 08:18 PM

64 F85 Proooject

Ok, so I'll be the first to admit, there is no good reason for me to be doing this project. I am completely inexperienced when it comes to classics, and I'm not a mechanic. I know how to take things apart... and if it's simple, I can usually get it back together. I lack organization, patience, skill, knowledge, cash and time. But... I have passion for what has potential for a cool car. So here I am.

Old February 8th, 2012, 08:25 PM

Initially the thought was to keep it all original and drive it around for a few years. Well after finding the original 330 needed some serious work I decided it would be better to pull it out and give it a quick refresh and then pop it back in.

I found a buddy just as naive as my self, and possibly even less experienced but willing to help. Free help is hard to come by and I wanted someone to share the joy of a rebuild with me. So we dug in.

Old February 8th, 2012, 08:33 PM

I read a few books on how to pull an engine and watched a few Youtube videos. So we became experts overnight! Well not exactly. We did do our best to label everything.

Old February 8th, 2012, 08:35 PM

Good luck that thing looks to be real solid and complete !! Nice find !
Old February 8th, 2012, 08:45 PM

Originally Posted by beebee78
Good luck that thing looks to be real solid and complete !! Nice find !
Thanks its not quite as solid as I would have hoped, but was complete... until I got started.
Old February 8th, 2012, 08:49 PM

One of the suggestions I read was to take lots of pictures, so when it goes back in we could refer back to the pictures.

Old February 8th, 2012, 08:56 PM

So after disconnecting everything we thought necessary we started rocking and pulling. Lets just say that I think we had to stop a few times and disconnect a few more things. But it did come out!

Old February 8th, 2012, 09:11 PM