Ratchet Shifter for Bench Seat

Search this Thread

Old March 6th, 2019, 12:11 PM

Ratchet Shifter for Bench Seat

My car is an original bench seat car with column shifter. I plan on retaining the bench seats but adding a ratchet shifter. The Promatic 2 shifter comes with a longer shifter handle for truck applications. I think it will clear the seat. Has anyone had experience with the Promatic 2?

My goal is to ditch the shifter housing and make a custom Leather boot to cover the shifter to replicate a 4 speed Hurst shifter found in cars with bench seats.

Old March 6th, 2019, 02:22 PM
Old(s) Fart

I have no experience with that shifter, but your idea might actually work. I'd suggest mocking up a shifter stick and see how it feels before spending the money. I'm thinking you may actually want a bench seat stick from a four speed shifter and modify it to fit the Promatic. Looks like you'd just need to drill a hole and mill a slot. If you go that way, it doesn't make sense to pay extra for the truck Promatic. The only difference is the taller stick, apparently.

Old March 6th, 2019, 02:59 PM

Joe, that is a good idea. The shifter stick may not be tall enough even with the truck version. I noted on another forum that a member had made a mounting bracket to mount the shifter assembly higher instead of swapping out the shifter stick itself. I was planning on going that route. Not sure if it is mandatory that the shifter assembly be mounted flush with the floor.

The difference between promatic 2 for cars vs. truck is about $30. I think its worth spending the $30 to see if I can make the truck version work.

Last edited by sjay1989; March 6th, 2019 at 03:03 PM.
Old March 6th, 2019, 03:07 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by sjay1989