General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Hooker headers install question

Search this Thread

Old March 17th, 2014, 01:59 PM

Hooker headers install question

Hello all. I just recently purchased a set of Hooker Headers for my 1971 Cutlass Holiday Hardtop. It has a 350, I dont know the exact year, but between 1977-1980. I have managed to get the manifolds down and getting ready to install the headers. I have no experience doing this before, so I was wondering if you could get me some info on how to install them.
Will the starter have to come of, do I need to get the steering linkage separated etc to get the headers to fit? It looks kinda tight.
Should they be installed from the top or do I try and slide them in from under the car?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
2014-03-17 21.45.28.jpg (45.5 KB, 111 views)
2014-03-17 21.15.04.jpg (66.4 KB, 94 views)
2014-03-17 21.07.31.jpg (59.5 KB, 91 views)
2014-03-14 16.39.10.jpg (58.8 KB, 97 views)
2014-03-14 17.26.15.jpg (34.1 KB, 98 views)
Old March 17th, 2014, 02:09 PM
Administrator

They need to be installed from underneath and it's a lot easier if you raise the front of the car as high as you can and support the frame on jack stands. The dipstick, oil filter, and possibly the starter need to be removed. You also may have to disconnect your transmission linkage. You may have to take the big bolt out of the engine mounts and raise the engine with a jack on each side to slide them in place.
Old March 17th, 2014, 02:15 PM
Beer Connoisseur

When I installed mine I had to raise the engine a little bit from each side.
Old March 17th, 2014, 02:30 PM

I took off the oil filter housing also. Starter always comes off when I'm putting headers on.
Old March 17th, 2014, 02:56 PM