General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Correct master cylinder

Search this Thread

Old May 3rd, 2017, 07:46 PM
Chevy budget Olds powered

Correct master cylinder

I got power drums on all corners whats the correct master for my 1972 cutlass. I got a master cylinder from the local parts store made by dorman but im not 100 percent sure its the correct part. Its been installed and seems to work but it seems like finding the correct one is hard as usually most upgrade to disk. I just want to be 100 percent sure i got the correct part. The last master i had on there worked for 8 years but didnt look anything like what i took off which was the original . It was also made by dorman. I had some issues and finally got my brakes to bleed and decided to do all new lines in the front and re bench the master but since im going to have it off and the subject at hand has been bugging me a bit i may as well double check.

Any info would be appreciated.

all i know on the specs is its a 1 in. bore

Last edited by coppercutlass; May 3rd, 2017 at 07:54 PM.
Old May 3rd, 2017, 08:45 PM

Can't help more than saying the drum masters I have seen have the same size reservoirs front and rear and the disc masters have a much larger front reservoir.
Old May 3rd, 2017, 09:05 PM

Thats what i noticed too. and from all the info on parts they share the same 1 in bore. I guess im a little paranoid as i really want it to be right. When i originally did these brake lines and master cylinder i was very green and it worked well for many many years but now i want it to be as correct as i can possibly make it as the car is not only getting a paint job but im addressing a few areas that needed a more professional touch and upgrading.
Old May 4th, 2017, 07:54 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by coppercutlass