General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Rough idle after 20 seconds or so

Search this Thread

Old August 13th, 2008, 11:55 AM
skubydobdo

Rough idle after 20 seconds or so

Hi guys, I'm new to the Olds family, and just picked up a 65 Ninety Eight. It starts fine from a cold start, and idles great and revs fine. Then, after about 10-20 seconds, the idle dips down and chugs and wont rev. It runs fine briefly from a cold start, but always does this afterwards. I also recently put in some new gas, and the old gas had been sitting there for a while. Anyone know where the fuel filter is on this thing? Cant seem to find it. Thanks!

Old August 13th, 2008, 01:14 PM

Check vacuum operated choke pulloff on the carb. If it doesnt open the choke flap some after a second or two after engine warms you will have the trouble you speak of....also check operation of choke. If you have a 4 jet rochester carb the filter is likely to be in the carb at fuel inlet. Make sure air filter is relatively clean. Make sure carb is not gas starved or flooding.
Old August 13th, 2008, 02:54 PM

Be careful pulling that filter out. I got mine out and then it just fell apart. Glad it didn't do that inside.

How old's the gas? In a 65, you should be able to sipon it out, You might have to
Old August 13th, 2008, 08:12 PM
Oldsdruid

1965 4GC have a sintered brass filter in the carb inlet which may be hard to find. You can probably use the short paper filter the later Chevy QuadraJets use. If you take that fitting apart, be very careful. They're worse about stripping than a QuadraJet. I would personally remove the carb inlet filter and install a metal can filter on the fuel pump suction line.