General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

2bbl 2 4bbl swap make a few more horses

Search this Thread

Old February 16th, 2014, 08:35 AM
1969 cutlass convertible

2bbl 2 4bbl swap make a few more horses

I am trying to get to between 300 and 350 hp out of my 69 olds cutlass 350. I have been reading a lot of these threads and first off I'm impressed by the knowledge out there and secondly I'm confused a bit by the tech stuff and a few of the abbreviations. I'm going to state my goals and background up front. I am 62and recently retired. I have helped my brother restore a 57 mga. we tore the engine apart had the machine shop work done and reassembled it. So I have some knowledge of engines however that was a very basic engine. I bought a 69 cutlass convertible that was about 80 pct restored. It has a 2bbl carb. The exhaust was converted to duels. The engine is a 69 350. It was rebuilt by a college auto shop class about 3000 miles ago prior to my buying it. I'm looking to use it as a cruiser like I did back in high school. Enough hp to light up the tires a bit but not a dragster. The book says this 2 bbl should be putting out 250 hp. With a 4 bbl it's 310 and the performance engine 325. I assume that's with dif heads. How accurate is this? If it's accurate I should be able to get where I'm going with a Eb rpm intake and a 4 bbl swap with some good headers right? Or do I need to go with a new mild cam heads and tork conv?
Old February 16th, 2014, 09:11 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Tim305
I assume that's with dif heads.