General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Pics of my wreck I didn't know existed...

Old April 25th, 2012, 09:35 AM
1971 Cutlass S

Pics of my wreck I didn't know existed...

I was over at a friends the other day, and we where going through some old albums he had from when we where much younger. One of the albums was all of the cars that he and I and some of our other friends owned in the days of our youth. I turned one page and saw the two photos below of my 1972 Cutlass Supreme Convertible. I didn't know anyone had pictures of the car after I wrecked it, but boy did it bring back some HORRIBLE memories. My dad bought the car new in 72 and sold it to me in 79 when I graduated from high school. I drove the car for a few years and absolutely loved it. In March of '81 I was out with my girl, and two friends at a local bar, and had about 12 too many - we left the bar and where headed home about 3:00 AM. As i was completely plowed, I was driving too fast and you can see the results below.
I know and the people in the car agree we where over 100MPH going around a curve I had taken many times at those speeds, but this night there was black ice on the road I didn't see, and as we went around the curve the rear went out from under me and we hit a MASSIVE old Oak tree on the corner dead center of the front bumper. I received over 100 stitches in my face and head, my girl smashed the windshield with her face (was fine though - mild concussion), and the two guys in the back basically walked away unscathed.

I did learn my lesson that night though - I have not touched a drop of alcohol since that night in '81, so this accident may have actually saved me. We where lucky, my car not so much. We where all amazed at the amount of damage to the car when we saw it the next day, and that anyone walked away.

Not to get preachy but - Don't drink and drive people - see what can happen - and it could have been much worse..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg