General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

71 Cutlass Sport 350, Runs BAD when warm

Old March 10th, 2019, 01:40 PM

71 Cutlass Sport 350, Runs BAD when warm

I've been driving this car for 4 years now with no major problems. Now, when the car heats up it starts bogging down bad bad . Takes 20-25 minutes then it will act up and runs like junk.

The following has since been replaced and same problem persists. New edelbrock carb , new coil , new plugs and wires, new cap & rotor . New fuel filter.

I got even compression of 120 Psi across all 8 cylinders , did compression test at operating temp once it starts running really bad.

Running a volt meter over the coil + and - I get 5 volts. Running I get 4 volt , holding the volt meter and having a buddy rev it , drops down to about 3.5-3.7 volts.

With the coil + unhooked , key forward I get 11.9 - 12 volts .

I thought I was only supposed to get 9v with key forward from ballast resistor to + wire . The second wire is supposed to run to the "R" terminal on starter. It seems both wires go down to the starter area, after doing research I was under the impression one wire went to "R" on starter, the other went to the bulk head / ballast .
The 12 volt + wire from "R" is only supposed to feed the coil full power during cranking , then letting off the key it switches back to the resistor wire .

Could the points and condenser be burning up at operating temps ??

All the spark plugs look a dry even burn , maybe a little white but all even .

I'm totally stumped but I know there has got to be a way to figure this out !!!!! Any help greatly appreciated .
Old March 10th, 2019, 01:59 PM
Administrator

Did you throw all those new parts at it to correct the problem? Did you replace the points and condenser? Have you checked your dwell and timing?
Old March 10th, 2019, 02:29 PM