General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Looking at this 442 W-30

Search this Thread

Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:09 AM

Looking at this 442 W-30

Greeting all:

I'm new to owning Oldsmobiles but have always loved them (I currently only have Chevys and Pontiacs). I'm considering this 442 W-30 for purchase and was hoping to get some feedback regarding the listing and the price. Please tell me what you think. Any help would be great!

https://www.smokymountaintraders.com...mobile-442-w30

Link to listing
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:14 AM
Old School Olds

Nice. Ask to see this build sheet they say they have. Good luck with you decision, that's a lot of $$.
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:17 AM

Originally Posted by tru-blue 442
Nice. Ask to see this build sheet they say they have. Good luck with you decision, that's a lot of $$.
If I get a copy of the build sheet, is it OK to post here for feedback?
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:19 AM
Old School Olds

Oh, Most definitely. We would Love to see it. Please do.
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:34 AM
Old School Olds

An Olds build sheet should look like this one. Be aware that build sheets for Lansing cars are almost
non existent. If there is a broadcast card marked W-30, that would be good proof as well. As long as it
is an original document. Good luck and do your homework on it. A lot of fakes out there.

This is a Fremont build sheet.
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:34 AM
71 & 72,now I want a 68

In my opinion it is over priced.
I think the car has had extensive rust repair and has many aftermarket reproduction parts.
The fenders are 71-72 fenders.
Look at the fit of the quarters,especially the drivers quarter and trunk.
Look at the difference in gap sizes between the hood and fenders.
Because of the excellent color,I think the red fender wells are repro's.
The positive battery cable routing is incorrect.

Last edited by w-30dreamin; November 22nd, 2018 at 08:39 AM.
Old November 22nd, 2018, 08:39 AM