General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Vista Cruiser is mostly Blue

Search this Thread

Old November 5th, 2018, 03:16 PM

Vista Cruiser is mostly Blue

I've been working on my Vista Cruiser for over two years now in my driveway and I wanted to find out if there's anything else that holds the roof rack on top except for the four corners. Do the lengthwise rails just sit loosely on top of the roof? There's some plastic underlay, but nothing that keeps it down on the roof. Was this just the way Oldsmobile did it on a car they considered to be a utility vehicle that would get it's roof bashed anyway with whatever people throw on top?

Also, I never really started a thread on my repairs turned restoration and so many people have helped me here that I thought I'd better get started while I am still working on it or it will never happen. I'm doing a partial restoration on this car and I'm doing it in a slightly unusual way. I work in my driveway that has a big balcony that covers it, so I'm basically outdoors and I've been looking at the weather report a lot lately to see if I can still get any 24 hour period where the temperature stays above 65 at night which is what my SPI Epoxy primer calls for.