General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Newbie needs exhaust help... did I make an expensive mistake?

Old September 20th, 2018, 05:22 PM

Unhappy Update! Newbie needs exhaust help... did I make an expensive mistake?

Being a newbie, I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post in, but please move if needed. I just installed full 2 1/2 dual exhaust (no h pipe) on the 68 Cutlass. stock 350 2 barrel, 2 speed. The drone is unbearable. I tried 2 diff mufflers. The installer insists an H pipe will not help. I got a second opinion, and this very experience builder took one look at it and said the exhaust was very large for a stock 350. He said it was like driving a school bus. He was exactly right. He suggested 2 1/4 max, with h pipe and flo pro muffs. He said he guarantees there will be no drone. I asked if he could try to save what I have, and he said not possible. I think what he says makes sense. Any opinions would be appreciated. Sorry to lose the money I just put in, but the car cannot be driven as is. Thanks
Ron

Last edited by Ron68; September 30th, 2018 at 09:51 AM.
Old September 20th, 2018, 05:35 PM
Hookers under Hood

Every driver has a different ear for exhaust loudness and tone, I would say 2 " pipe would be more than enough with a decent Turbo style muffler for a stock 350 2bbl 2-speed
If your kicking around the idea of more performance down the road, than 2 1/4 would be the way to go.
Many guys like the tone of the Dynomax mufflers on the street .
Good luck with your decision!
Eric .
Old September 20th, 2018, 05:52 PM
72 Olds CS

what mufflers did you try ? anything w flowmasters is going to be loud

turbo mufflers generally have a good tone w out being obnoxious
Old September 20th, 2018, 06:02 PM
Rocket Renegade!

2 1/4" should be plenty for just about any streetable 350, let alone a 2 bbl. stocker. What made you decide on a 2 1/2" system?