General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

4 post lift

Search this Thread

Old June 24th, 2018, 04:19 PM

4 post lift

I just bought a new 4 post lift for my garage/shop. It’s to be installed 6 July.
Now Im looking for ideas on how to lift both front wheels off the ramps at the same time.
I know that I could buy a rolling bridge jack but I would like to build something that is safe
I’m sure some of you guys have come up with something you have built.
Please share your ideas
Old June 24th, 2018, 06:17 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by My2nd 69 442
I know that I could buy a rolling bridge jack but I would like to build something that is safe

As an engineer, my knee-jerk reaction to this is "the rolling jacks are DESIGNED to work with the four post lift safely." Are you a mechanical engineer? Do you plan to run the structural numbers to ensure safety? Do you have the structural info on the lift where you plan to interface this new jack structure? Do you understand load concentrations and fatigue?

The reality is that I just don't get four post lifts for any service work other than oil changes for exactly the reasons you are facing.
Old June 24th, 2018, 07:36 PM

Joe I also have a 2 post lift that I have been using for a number of years.
My thoughts initially is that I will use a couple of 2x2 10 gage steel tubes spanning across the 2 ramps with hydronic jacks in proper positions to lift the vehicle.
To answer your question No I’m not an engineer of any sort. I’m just a guy that likes to do crap if I’m able. Having been an A&P mechanic with my IA endorsement, I’ve gotten along for my 70 years with out killing myself or anyone else yet
if anyone has built what I ‘m asking about l would appreciate your input p
Old June 24th, 2018, 07:36 PM

Originally Posted by joe_padavano