General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Estate sale heads

Search this Thread

Old December 6th, 2017, 07:12 PM

Estate sale heads

Hello everyone, I recently picked up a 455 motor at an estate sale. I bought it without knowing any details of the internals. The motor was built for a boat but I jumped on it and bought it anyways. My plan is to tell the intake, headers and other boat specific parts and throw it in an olds.

I was hoping you guys could help me identify the heads.(I’m relatively new to the hobby so be gentle lol)

Picture of whole motor
Looks like it was freshly rebuilt

Old December 6th, 2017, 07:24 PM
CH3NO2 LEARN IT BURN IT

Generic 409100, 80cc, G heads off a 1971 455. Should, could, may, might, can, ought to, quite possibly could have and maybe by chance came wtih the big valves having all that induction... or not. What are the numbers on the engine deck by the oil gauge sender?

Put a squirt of 30W in each cylinder and with the plugs out manually prime it through the distributor hole while rotating it by hand until you see oil from all push-rods.

Last edited by droldsmorland; December 7th, 2017 at 08:36 PM.
Old December 6th, 2017, 07:56 PM

G heads

Originally Posted by droldsmorland
Generic 409100, 80cc, G heads off a 1971 455. Should have the big valves. What are the numbers on the engine deck by the oil gauge sender?

Put a squirt of 30W in each cylinder and with the plugs out manually prime it through the distributor hole while rotating it by hand until you see oil from all push-rods.

Not all G heads are big valves.
Old December 6th, 2017, 09:35 PM

Originally Posted by GreekDog
My plan is to tell the intake, headers and other boat specific parts and throw it in an olds.
Check with the guy in this thread - he is looking for a dual quad big block intake manifold.

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...as-wanted.html
Old December 7th, 2017, 06:50 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by oldsmobiledave