General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

someone explain to me the advantages of a bolt with a 12 point head

Old September 17th, 2017, 07:32 AM

someone explain to me the advantages of a bolt with a 12 point head

I am no mechanical newbie , I have been turning wrenches for over 40 years , but I cant seem to wrap my head around the advantages of a 12 point bolt. Less surface contact , smaller head and you are forced to use a 12 point socket.

The reason I ask is previous owner used them alot , oil pan, etc. I am considering replacing them with 6 point , but maybe I am missing something.
Old September 17th, 2017, 07:46 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by budg
I am no mechanical newbie , I have been turning wrenches for over 40 years , but I cant seem to wrap my head around the advantages of a 12 point bolt. Less surface contact , smaller head and you are forced to use a 12 point socket.

The reason I ask is previous owner used them alot , oil pan, etc. I am considering replacing them with 6 point , but maybe I am missing something.
Your assumption of "less surface contact" is flawed. Sockets engage at the corners, not the flats. More corners means MORE contact, and more even distribution around the circumference. High-torque applications nearly always use 12 point heads - look at the nuts on your rod bolts, for example. MIL-SPEC fasteners are typically 12 point. The reduced head diameter both reduces weight (very important on an aircraft) and requires less clearance for a socket.

Do you need them for valve covers and oil pans? Heck no. The P.O. was just adding bling.
Old September 17th, 2017, 07:57 AM

This is definately true if you use a 12 point socket, but if you use a 6 point does this theory still hold true? Not really trying to be argumentative, just trying to understand. In my industry ( big iron chiller mechanic) a high torque bolt is usually of the grade 8 variety.