General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

no juice to my blower motor

Search this Thread

Old June 25th, 2017, 08:06 PM

no juice to my blower motor

Hey guys, i have my car where it will start and run with its own key and gas from its own tank. Yeah! I dont have everything electrical hooked up, the steering column is still not in, interior lights not in yet, or headlights or taillights. My dash lights work, windshield wiper motor works, i can hear the clutch on the A/C compressor energizing, but my fan blower will not come on. I tried several relays on the blower housing, one of which is new, and still no juice to the blower. I can cross the orange power wire to the purple going to the blower and it will come on fine, its a new motor. On the A/C control under the dash are 2 switches there is power going to one pole of each of the plugs going to them, but no power to the blower motor. Im not very good with electrical, im stumped.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Steve
Old June 26th, 2017, 03:52 AM
Administrator

Check your fuse marked heater.
Old June 26th, 2017, 04:10 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Do you have a blower resistor installed and connected?

Is the inline fuse between the horn relay and the High speed relay there and intact?

- Eric
Old June 26th, 2017, 06:51 PM

Blower fuse has the correct 20 amp fuse and the blower relay is in place on top of the blower housing. I tried a new relay as well. the high speed blower wire is in place with a good fuse. The blower motor is new, the three prong plug that goes to the blower relay has an orange, green and ?purple wire. The purple wire goes straight to the blower motor, if i jump the orange to the purple the motor comes on strong. There seems to be power to the switch plugs inside the dash but the blower will not blow.
Still stumped
Old June 26th, 2017, 06:59 PM

blower housing