General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Reasonable car for reasonable price

Search this Thread

Old January 12th, 2017, 11:15 PM

Reasonable car for reasonable price

What's up guys I'm new to this scene and I've been trying to buy a 68-72 Cutlass S for the longest time. It seems as if everyone and their mothers discovered epoxy and cover their whole car in that **** without trying to remove any rust; and try to sell it for 8,000 and higher. Even worse is seeing a rusted roller with no title selling for 6,000. Have people lost their minds?? All I want is to buy a nice Cutlass, but all I have is 8000 to spend. Can anyone help out?? Thanks again guys
Old January 13th, 2017, 04:36 AM

Originally Posted by Yanek Yakubov
What's up guys I'm new to this scene and I've been trying to buy a 68-72 Cutlass S for the longest time. It seems as if everyone and their mothers discovered epoxy and cover their whole car in that **** without trying to remove any rust; and try to sell it for 8,000 and higher. Even worse is seeing a rusted roller with no title selling for 6,000. Have people lost their minds?? All I want is to buy a nice Cutlass, but all I have is 8000 to spend. Can anyone help out?? Thanks again guys

$5-8k is going to get you a project car with rust beginning to show through. You aren't going to find anything without rust (or hidden rust) that's decent driver for under $12k
Old January 13th, 2017, 04:37 AM
Runner

Yes some people have the "barret jackson syndrome" where they think their car, regardless of the condition, should demand top dollar. There are Cutlasses out there in nice condition* for 8k or less. Do you have more specifics on what you are looking for (specific year, color, model?)

*By nice I mean its definitely not going to be perfect. Typical rust will be there but it can definitely be a driver.
Old January 13th, 2017, 05:14 AM