Changing points to HEI

Search this Thread

Old September 1st, 2015, 04:12 PM

Changing points to HEI

I am thinking of changing my points ignition over to HEI possibly using Pertronix on my 71 Olds 350 engine. First, how hard is it to change over and second...I've heard a few different views on
Do I need to change plug wires?
Do I need a new coil?
Do I need a new alternator with HEI?
Do I need to change some lead wires to compensate for 12 volt HEI?
What plugs and gap are best?
Thanks...Billy
Old September 1st, 2015, 05:11 PM

First off, HEI and Pertronix are NOT the same thing. Pertronix is simply an electronic version of points (electronic switch instead of mechanical switch).

The difficulty depends upon which system you are going to use. I have no hands-on experience with Pertronix systems, but from what I recall reading it involves replacing the points with the electronic module and (perhaps?) running a full 12 Volt wire in place of the existing resistor wire.

Do I need to change plug wires?
HEI - yes as the distributor cap utilizes a different style plug wire end.
Pertronix - no, the original cap and plug wires are retained.

Do I need a new coil?
HEI - yes, the coil is in the distributor cap.
Pertronix - uses the original coil.

Do I need a new alternator with HEI?
No.

Do I need to change some lead wires to compensate for 12 volt HEI?
Yes.

What plugs and gap are best?
There are many opinions on plug brand.
For HEI, the plug gap can be opened some to take advantage of the higher output. I use .045" on my car.
For Pertronix, I don't think there is any change in voltage, so no change in plug gap.
Old September 1st, 2015, 05:14 PM
Administrator

Ken pretty much covered it... I'll add that there is nothing wrong with the simplicity of points and the only gain with a pertronix is you don't have to take 15 mins a year to reset dwell/timing or change points.
Old September 1st, 2015, 05:35 PM

Originally Posted by oldcutlass