wiring, rats, and help!

Search this Thread

Old March 21st, 2014, 08:08 AM

wiring, rats, and help!

hello, I have a 1971 olds cutlass with a rebuilt 350 rocket and th350 tranny. Both are original. I'm very new to projects on cars and I have little skills but I'm eager to learn and I'm a quick study, if its clear.
PROBLEM: Rats have eaten through a few of my wires and I don't know where they go, connect to, or if I need them at all. Also I changed from points to HEI, which further confuses the wiring. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attached are pics of the wires that have been chewed upon. There's a pic with the old distributor with a single black wire. I'm not sure what that went to especially because I went to a new HEI distributor. I have more pics if needed!!

thanks

the 2nd pic is wires coming from the harness
the 4th pic is coming from the regulator on the fire wall
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
20140321_092633[1].jpg (89.3 KB, 122 views)
20140321_092744[1].jpg (47.6 KB, 54 views)
20140321_092825[1].jpg (36.4 KB, 49 views)
20140321_092850[1].jpg (51.4 KB, 48 views)
20140321_093117[1].jpg (83.1 KB, 119 views)

Last edited by westside807; March 21st, 2014 at 08:14 AM.
Old March 21st, 2014, 08:37 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Not to sound rude, but I don't see any damage.

- Eric
Old March 21st, 2014, 09:22 AM
Administrator

Is that your old distributor with the wire chewed off? On the wires that had just a bit of insulation missing you can cut, solder back together with some heat shrink for insulation. Or just tape really well.
Old March 21st, 2014, 09:23 AM
Old(s) Fart

These are the wires that go to the + side of the coil. The yellow wire is the start wire without resistor, the black/pink wire is the one with the resistor. The splice tells me that the resistor wire was cut out and replaced with regular copper wire. Unless you have an electronic conversion that requires full 12 volts, this is not the correct fix.