70 toro coil replacement! Help please!

Search this Thread

Old November 11th, 2012, 06:23 PM

70 toro coil replacement! Help please!

Ok so I was so excited a year ago when I got my 70 toro, and well not being a mechanic I started taking things off before I got my camera out! So carb, ignition coil, and distributor came off prior to me taking any pics for reinstall. So after spending all day trying to figure out where these go I've taking the high road and am now asking for help.

I have a red w/ black stripe and connector, two white wires and the black wire from distributor pics included. I also found a hole in coil where oil was leaking so I bought a new one as well as new capacitor.

I think white wires go to pos on coil... But not sure

Black from distributor .....no clue!

Red/black well I can't find the other end to connect it to .....so again no clue!

Capacitor ummm no clue! Who would have thought!

If anyone has any idea please let me know. Thanks Marc

Oh yeah also where can I connect ground to alternator from?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
image.jpg (69.7 KB, 86 views)
Old November 11th, 2012, 06:24 PM

Other pics
Attached Images
image.jpg (78.6 KB, 87 views)
Old November 11th, 2012, 06:26 PM

Last one! They all seem to upside down sorry!
Attached Images
image.jpg (75.3 KB, 87 views)
Old November 11th, 2012, 07:11 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by Marc A Levy
... carb, ignition coil, and distributor came off prior to me taking any pics for reinstall. So after spending all day trying to figure out where these go I've taking the high road and am now asking for help.
You know, you could just look in the Chassis Service Manual or the Assembly Manual.

I have no idea what this wire is. Where does it go?

How did you get such a heavy car to hang upside down?
You know, it might be easier to work on the engine if you turn it upside-right.

This is the black wire that goes from the points in the distributor to the negative terminal on the coil.