Subwoofer wiring.

Old April 22nd, 2012, 06:29 AM

Subwoofer wiring.

I have a custom auto sound radio in my dash with the Oldsmobile logo on it. I would like to add a subwoofer and sub amp. The radio has the normal speaker connections which I am using for the fronts and rears. It also has rca low level outputs for an amp, and the power antenna wire. However, it does NOT have a subwoofer out. I don't need any more volume on the highs and mids so I just want to add a sub and leave the speakers hooked to the head unit. How would I wire this?? Nothing big, just 1 or 2 10's. Obviously I am new to amps. Thanks
Old April 22nd, 2012, 07:22 AM
Shaking out the cobwebs..

That's easy. You can use those RCA low level outputs.
Head to Crutchfield.com, look for an amplifier that has a low pass filter of 80 to 100. This is what will 'filter' out the high range frequencies (100 Hz and above).
You don't want anything above 120 Hz to go to the subs. Make sure the SN ratio (signal to noise) is above 100. This will give you a cleaner sound, you DON'T want distortion going to the subs.

Another feature to keep an eye for is a remote amp control. This will allow you to turn the bass volume up or down from your seat, for times when you don't want so much boom. Many amps come with this, so it shouldn't be too hard to find.

There are a lot of amps that will work for you. Crutchfield has a great tutorial on subs amps, etc. Be sure to read about 'parallel and series' wiring, you can get more power from an amp with parallel wiring, but you need to watch your ohm load on the amp, too low and you will fry it.
When you start looking for an amp, check the reviews, they're very valuable.

Last edited by midrange; April 22nd, 2012 at 07:27 AM.
Old April 22nd, 2012, 07:49 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

I think Midrange has a good idea there -

Crutchfield is so user-friendly it can get annoying, but, hey, that's a good thing, right?