70 Cutlass misleading fuel gauge

Search this Thread

Old May 10th, 2017, 04:40 PM

70 Cutlass misleading fuel gauge

Hi there! Greetings from Spain,

I´m a newbie in this forum though I have been owning and restoring classic cars for the past 10 years. One month ago I bought the jewel of my small collection, a 70 Cutlass S. You can read the story of the car here: https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...k-hardtop.html

The car is in an exceptional condition for a 47 year car; it drives and runs great. Everything works, even the clock or the A/C, except for a couple of small details I would like to solve to bring it back to its pristine condition.

One of them is the fuel gauge. Most of the time it shows more fuel level than correct. When I picked up the car I filled the tank with 68 liters. Total capacity is 76 liters so it should be close to empty but the gauge showed the tank was half full. When the tank is full the needle goes to the "O" of the "HOT" light, at the right of the gauge. When the tank level is lowering there is a time when the needle fluctuate; sometimes it´s near the "Full" mark and 2 minutes later it´s near the middle mark afterwards it goes back near the "Full" line again... Last time I filled the tank, the needle was near the middle but I needed 1/3 of the capacity of the tank to get it full.

The car spent more than 2 years with a very low level of gas in the tank. I don´t know if it may have damaged an old sender.

I would like to know your opinions about the origin of this malfunction. I think it´s the sender but maybe some of you have similar experiences or know about some typical problem on these cars before I take the tank down and change the sender... Not a pleasant job

By the moment I control how many kilometers I make since the last time I filled the tank, refilling when I make 260 Km / 163 miles max... And I have a 5 liter gas can in the trunk