Blower motor only work on high

Search this Thread

Old September 6th, 2016, 03:15 PM

Blower motor only work on high

Hi Folks,

Newbie to the forum. Just bought my first '70 cutlass and having trouble with the blower motor; it only works on high. I know the stock answer is to replace the blower resistor however I'd hopefully like to get a little education on the HVAC wiring on this car as well. I just bought this cutlass and although I'm no greenhorn when it comes to wiring or mechanics, I am new to some of the practices GM used in these cars.

Seeing as how the fan only works on high I too would have just assumed the resistor is bad however it looks like there is a relay in line with the resistor? What is the purpose of this? (I know what a relay does...) Every other GM (and ford for that matter) i've had and worked on use a switch that sends power through that switch and to the resistor...so on and so forth - no relays involved. The car does have factory air conditioning for what it's worth.

I plan to replace the resistor but something in my gut says it's not the resistor. I had one in my Ford go (so I thought) and it turned out to be the thermal fuse. Easily fixed with a radio shack thermal fuse for $1.00 rather $30.00 the auto parts store wanted for a brand new resistor.

Your help is much appreciated.
Thanks,
Old September 6th, 2016, 08:12 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

All GM blowers in A/C systems from the early '60s through the '80s, more or less, ran the current for the fan directly from the battery, through a 30A fuse and a relay, for the high blower speed.

Lower speeds went through the resistor.

The switch routes the lower three speeds through the resistor, and sends the high speed to trigger the relay.

The lower speeds go through the relay after the resistor, so the relay routes the lower speeds to the motor when not energized, and routes full battery current to the motor when energized.