lights

Search this Thread

Old August 27th, 2007, 04:20 PM

lights

I'm new to this but what the heck here I go. I'm having trouble with my 1979 98 regency. The gen. light stays on along with the left turn signal when I turn on the headlights I have had the battery check at first it showed unstable on the reading than it finally stablize n the alternator checked out ok along with the regulator.Everything checks out ok. So what is my problem?
Old August 27th, 2007, 05:13 PM
Past Administrator

Welcome to our site. I would venture a guess that you may have a bad turn signal switch or headlight switch or wiring since you said it stays on all the time when the headlights are on. Either one of those could be causing a "soft short" to ground which would drain your battery and work against the charging system. This could also explain the "gen" light being on all the time. Remove the fuse that protects the headlight circuit and see if your gen light stops illuminating. And the same with the turn signal fuse (if it isn't the same, not sure). This will at least narrow down the problem some. There could be other troubles as well, bad grounds, worn wiring someplace, the list goes on and on.
Old August 28th, 2007, 01:01 PM

Lights

Check all your bulbs on that side,one front or back is bad,The indicator light on the dash also serves as a warning light
.Dim bulbs ,bad ground .as far as gen light check belt tension
Old September 2nd, 2007, 08:26 PM

battery went dead now.