after market power antenna

Search this Thread

Old May 26th, 2021, 05:10 PM

after market power antenna

Hi Folks---I am a newbie and this is my first post.

Bought an after market power antenna -three wire-one black, one red and one blue. Want to hook it up to the original factory power antenna dash switch in my 1968 -442. There was a post sometime back that involved the use of two relays but I think it was for a two wire antenna. I wired the relays up as per wiring diagram but it didn't work. Is there different wiring for a three wire antenna????
Old May 26th, 2021, 06:22 PM

The antenna you have gets positive to the red wire and negative to the black wire. The blue wire is the trigger. If you connect it to power, the antenna will go up, if you remove power from the blue wire the antenna will go down. As far as using an original switch, you have two options. If you find a switch that turns on and off like the courtesy light switch that will fit, you can simply use it to supply power to the blue wire and leave the red and black wires connected all the time as intended. If you use the original switch, you can use diodes or relays to power only the red wire when the "down" terminal has power (switch pressed down) and power the red and blue wires when the "up" terminal has power (switch pressed up). You cannot simply use your original switch to give power to the blue wire when pressing the switch up because as soon as you let go and the switch returns to center, the antenna will go back down.

Last edited by Loaded68W34; May 26th, 2021 at 06:30 PM.
Old May 26th, 2021, 06:49 PM

Thanks for the reply--The original factory switch has a center off position and spring loaded to the right or left for up and down. Would like to get it working so the antenna would go up or down only while you are holding the switch on--in other words it could go only partially up or down by the amount of time that you hold the switch on--if that is possible
Old May 26th, 2021, 07:22 PM