72 Delta 88 Royale air ride

Search this Thread

Old August 15th, 2015, 08:26 PM

72 Delta 88 Royale air ride

Hi there, new to the forum. I inherited my great grandparents 1972 Delta 88 royale 4 door hard top. It is a cool looking car and has a ton of potential in my opinion. I have to replace the fenders and quarter panels due to rust, and also the strip of metal under the rear window. Past that the car is in beautiful shape. I am an upholsterer by trade and know quite a bit about painting and refinishing, so I will be doing pretty much all of the work on my own. Anyway, I would like to put a full air ride suspension on the car after I get the body work taken care off. I've searched the internet up and down but can't find a kit specifically for my vehicle. I'm pretty sure the car is compatible to other full size GM cars of the era, but I don't know which one(s). Has anyone done or attempted to do this to this type of oldsmobile before? I would really appreciate all the help I can get. I have had a hard enough time just tracking down all four fenders from a rust free vehicle. If anyone knows where to get those for a decent price I would appreciate that as well. I have big plans for this car and can't wait to turn them into reality...with a little help of course. Thanks in advance.

-Andrew Wilhelm

Last edited by awilhelm; August 15th, 2015 at 08:28 PM. Reason: spelling
Old August 15th, 2015, 08:32 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

In this series, the suspension components should be the same as the Impala, Caprice, Grand Am, Bonneville, Electra, and LeSabre, 1971 to '76, and probably the LeMans and the Riviera.

Welcome to ClassicOlds.

- Eric
Old August 15th, 2015, 08:34 PM

Thank you very much. I was hoping it was compatible to something popular like the Impala. Any idea what an easy fuel injected motor and transmission to swap in would be also?
Old August 15th, 2015, 09:02 PM

Well that's too bad. Maybe I'll just go with an LT-1 or rebuild the 350 that's in it.