1962 oldsmobile super 88 waterpump help

Old August 10th, 2017, 03:00 PM

1962 oldsmobile super 88 waterpump help

Hello all, this is my first time posting so please ignore if I unknowingly break any forum rules. I have a 1962 Oldsmobile super 88 which was leaking a little antifreeze through the weep hole (the hole just below the shaft in the pump body). It was a small leak but enough to drip on the crankshaft pulley and cause the power steering belt to slip.

Long story short, I was only able to find two vendors offering waterpumps for my car and I went ahead and ordered it. It is a brand new and not a rebuilt waterpump. It is the correct waterpump for a non A/C 1962 394ci v8 super 88. I compared the new pump to the original one and it is identical including the shaft length.

I went ahead and installed it and let it sit overnight so the sealant cured. I filled it up this afternoon and I could hear a steady stream of coolant leaking. I checked and it's coming out through the weep hole. My understanding is that the coolant should not leak out of the weep hole unless the seal is going out. I also made sure that it is not leaking through any water pump bolts.

This makes me think that pump is faulty. Please correct me if I am wrong or if you have any suggestions. I have a video of the leak but not sure how to upload it.

Thanks.

Last edited by abhisabs; August 10th, 2017 at 07:29 PM. Reason: Correcting typo errors
Old August 10th, 2017, 03:21 PM
Administrator

I would call the vendor you purchased the pump from, sounds to me its faulty.
Old August 11th, 2017, 05:39 AM

There shouldn't be any coolant coming out of the weep hole. At the very least it shouldn't be a steady stream. Call the supplier, hopefully they make it right.
Old August 11th, 2017, 06:10 AM

Originally Posted by Olds64
There shouldn't be any coolant coming out of the weep hole. At the very least it shouldn't be a steady stream. Call the supplier, hopefully they make it right.