1974 Delta 88 heater core needs replaced, ???

Old September 29th, 2014, 11:51 AM

1974 Delta 88 heater core needs replaced, ???

Hello all. I just got home my 74 Delta 88 Royale. I am totally new to this car, G body?
I know I have to put a heater core in it, classic smell, fog put on inside window when defrost turned on.
This is a NON AC car and appears to be a bare bones control system, no automatic anything on it. I have good heat just leaking.
How hard is it to replace the core in this boat? I can see the whole heater box on the pass side/middle of the car. What am I in for to do this?

Thanks

Tim
Old September 29th, 2014, 12:25 PM

This is a B-body car, and you would do well to get yourself a copy of the 1974 Factory Service Manual. These appear on ebay all the time.

Here's one for $8.00 plus $8.00 shipping. There are others.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1974-Oldsmob...0a7963&vxp=mtr

I have the '73 manual, and I would think the procedure is identical as the full-size Oldsmobiles were pretty much the same in this regard for '71 through '76.

The procedure is not trivial. The heater case and core are removed from inside the car, not from under the hood, and requires disassembling the right side of the dashboard.

From the '73 manual:

1. Disconnect battery.
2. Remove four heater case attaching nuts to dash panel. (These are accessed from under the hood according to the accompanying diagram.)
3. Drain radiator below heater level and disconnect heater hoses.
4. Disconnect temperature cable, defroster cable, and vacuum hose from heater case.
5. Remove defroster duct to case attaching screw.
6. Remove right half of right hand trim panel (the part with the glovebox - removal of this is detailed in a separate part of the manual).
7. Remove heater case from inside car.
8. Remove heater core from case.

Installation is the reverse of the removal procedure.
Old September 29th, 2014, 12:32 PM

thanks, I will pick up the manual from ebay right now.