A guy wants to trade me rearends.Noob ?'s

Search this Thread

Old December 12th, 2008, 08:21 PM
I am "74omega" NO SPACE

A guy wants to trade me rearends.Noob ?'s

My brothers friend owns a 1965 (real)442. He is not really into Olds' per say and I am just learning. He just put a fresh 403 in it (I know) that my borother gave him for free from a 78 trans am he parted out, but has always complained it has to aggressive gears in it . He heard that I have a extra 10 bolt 8.5 with 3.08's from a 73 nova.

The rearend he has is a POSI and is original to the car. He wants to trade for my extra rearend.

Are they at all compatible to fit in his car? Should I trade regardless? Will his Fit in my 1974 omega?

Either way he said the rearend is mine. I just have to wait for him to locate another If my 8.5 10 bolt will not work in his.
Old December 12th, 2008, 08:37 PM

I'm not sure about track width but you are looking at two entirely different suspensions. The cutlass is riding on coil springs, so mounts and perches would have to be cut and re welded in their proper locations. You may wat to talk to monzaz about swapping out the carriers instead. I have never done a diff in a car so would have no clue as to the difficulty level of the swap, but have read that it can be done if you are patient, have a manual, and can follow directions precicely. Probably not what you want to hear, but it's the best I have. I'm sure others will chime in with more precice info later.
Old December 13th, 2008, 07:48 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by 74omega
My brothers friend owns a 1965 (real)442. He is not really into Olds' per say and I am just learning. He just put a fresh 403 in it (I know) that my borother gave him for free from a 78 trans am he parted out, but has always complained it has to aggressive gears in it . He heard that I have a extra 10 bolt 8.5 with 3.08's from a 73 nova.

The rearend he has is a POSI and is original to the car. He wants to trade for my extra rearend.