Name Brand?

Search this Thread

Old October 22nd, 2008, 04:43 PM

Name Brand?

Hey Enthusiasts,
I have this problem. My 73' Cutlass (455) originally had an Edelbrock 4 bbl carb that has gone to pieces. At first I thought I just had to get a kit to clean it up since it was leaking fuel onto my intake manifold but after my mechanic worked on it and took it apart four times he said I should just get a new one. While looking around online I found that it would cost me $300!

While pondering whether I should shell out the cash (I am a college student! You know how many books that could get me?!?!) I was talking to some guys and they said that I could get a Carter 4 bbl carb. They took out my old carb (Edelbrock) and showed me the intake valves. They were a good size and then he showed me the Carter valves, the ones in front were smaller than the Edelbrock but the ones in the back where HUGE! It looks like it would be more fuel efficent but I still get the power when I need to. Plus it is only $100!

What do you guys think?
Old October 22nd, 2008, 05:09 PM

I am no carb expert, but do understand some of the basics. The small primaries will give good clean or crisp throttle response without using a ton of fuel. the large secondaries will let the car breath. stay out of the secondaries, and you should get respectable economy. otherwise you will probably get the performance you want. As an aside, I dont think GM offered anything but the qjet in the '70s so that carb is probably not stock. also before you buy make sure the carb is matched to the engine, ie jetting and cfm are correct. Just don't ask me what that would specificaly be.
Old October 22nd, 2008, 06:05 PM

hes right, what these guys showed you is a carter quadrajet. Its virtually the same as a reqular quadrajet, but is newer. The quadrajet is famous because of its "spreadbore" design, and is what originally came on your car.
Old October 22nd, 2008, 07:30 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by The_Jeremiah