Fuel pump ISSUES

Search this Thread

Old March 21st, 2018, 04:43 AM

Fuel pump ISSUES

Guys - I’m have a hellova time getting gas to the carburetor. I have a 70’ cutlass convertible. When I bought the car, the seller said he thought there was a clog in the gas tank so rigged a gas can upfront under the hood. That worked.

Since then, I’ve replaced the gas tank and sending unit. I’ve replaced the rubber hose between tank and hard lines at the rear of the car. I replaced the mechanical fuel pump last night. I had someone blow through the line to check to see if anything was in there. Air flow seems strong.

With All of this either changed or checked, I still have no fuel getting to the carburetor. WTF can be the problem? Is there a camshaft pushrod? I didn’t see one when I replaced the fuel pump, but I’m also a newbie so........

PLEASE HELP.......FEELING HOPELESS AS HELL RIGHT NOW.
Old March 21st, 2018, 05:21 AM

Rosco, if you remove the fuel IN to the mechanical pump and put it in a jerry can you should get fuel OUT of the pump if it is working. Try this agian but feed the fuel OUT into a coffee can. If you don't have positive flow you know the pump is bad.
Old March 21st, 2018, 05:28 AM

You should have a vented gas cap.
Old March 21st, 2018, 05:33 AM

Originally Posted by My442
You should have a vented gas cap.
I bought a new gas cap, but for what it’s worth, I left one of the vent lines open because I needed to get another rubber hose. I’d assume this isn’t the problem because the car should be able to run while the fuel cap is off or pumping gas. Correct me if I’m wrong though.
Old March 21st, 2018, 05:36 AM
Maintained

not a camshaft pushrod like chevy has, but oldsmobile uses a camshaft driven eccentric wheel that drives the fuel pump arm. also check the fuel flow after the pump and at the carb intake port to verify just how far the fuel gets before stopping.
Old March 21st, 2018, 05:36 AM

Originally Posted by Olds64