UMI 68-72 GM A-Body Front Frame Brace

Search this Thread

Old September 2nd, 2017, 06:17 AM

UMI 68-72 GM A-Body Front Frame Brace

Any thoughts on this being worthwhile on the convertible?

http://umiperformance.com/catalog/in...r_of_uploads=0

Thanks, Joe
Old September 2nd, 2017, 07:08 PM

I just ordered a 3.5 suspension kit from them, UMI. I didn't order the front brace because I saw one from another company I like better. SC&C if I remember correctly. It ties the frame rails together and attaches to the crossmember under the oil pan. I am either going to make one like that or buy that one.
Old September 2nd, 2017, 08:08 PM

I saw that one as well. I would guess it is better but I did not like how low it was.
Old September 3rd, 2017, 06:38 AM
Old(s) Fart

As a structural engineer, I can tell you that the only "improvement" you will get from that brace is a weight reduction because your wallet will be lighter.

This part does exactly NOTHING for the car. Think about this. It is bracing across the sway bar mounting points. These mounting points are rubber and there is NO LOAD carried crossways in the frame from those attachments. This brace is so compliant as compared to the factory frame as to be completely worthless, and the oversize holes that mount it using the sway bar mounting bolts carry no load. This is the stupidest part I have ever seen. What a crock.
Old September 3rd, 2017, 06:41 AM

Joe what so you think of the brace for the ear shock mounts? Or the SC&C brace for the front of the frame?
Old September 3rd, 2017, 06:42 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Magna86
Joe what so you think of the brace for the ear shock mounts? Or the SC&C brace for the front of the frame?
I haven't ever seen those. Links or URLs?
Old September 3rd, 2017, 06:48 AM

http://scandc.com/new/node/1034
Old September 3rd, 2017, 07:05 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Magna86
http://scandc.com/new/node/1034