The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Work boots

Search this Thread

Old September 20th, 2017, 07:33 AM

Work boots

I work in a warehouse. We have to wear steel toe boots. At the end of the day my feet are on fire! I know steel toes arent meant to be comfortable but jeez! There has to be something better! And we are required to move fast and steel toes arent exactly the lightest shoe on the planet.

Does anyone recommend a boot that is comfortable and lightweight? And affordable? Under 100 bucks
Old September 20th, 2017, 07:48 AM
Always room for one more

My favorites are Redwings, though they tend to wear out a little fast. But take them to the Redwing place and they send them out for resoling and they ship them back to your door. Right now I wear Doc Martins. They are comfortable and wear like iron.

I'm afraid you're not going to find a good boot for under 100. My Redwings cost 250 and I don't remember what the DMs cost but I know it's over 100 and my work subsidizes them.

One option is the composite toe boots. They are rated comparable to steel toes and they are lighter. I've never had them so I can't comment on them but some guys at work have them and seem to like them.
Old September 20th, 2017, 09:10 AM

i wear wolverines,kinda like a hiking boot with oil resistant soles.i usually get 2-3 yrs out of em,just make sure you treat them with a leather conditioner before you wear em.otherwise when they get wet they will stiffen up.i usually spray em when i get em then let em set for a week or so and hit em again before i wear em,then i will rotate for a couple weeks,new boots one day old the next.because your feet need to adjust to new boots.i think my last pair was 120 and that was 2 yrs ago and i might hit the company up for a pair here before winter sets in.
Old September 20th, 2017, 09:24 AM