The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Tips for a Kingsport Nationals first timer?

Search this Thread

Old July 15th, 2016, 09:42 AM
Gearhead in training

Tips for a Kingsport Nationals first timer?

Hi all! This is my first year as an oldsmobile owner and the first year i will be attending nationals, im really excited and have been looking forward to it since i caught wind.

As far as planning goes, i honestly dont know the address of where its being held and at this point have gotten about as far as saying i want to go, i dont really know what to expect or what to plan for, and with it right around the corner id like some tips and ideas of what to expect and plan for.

Ill be driving the custom cruiser and hope to pick up a few odds and ends as well as put a few names to faces. Im 19, so im pretty sure bars and pubs arnt in my cards. And places you guys know of to attend while im there? Ill probably be spending the duration of the trip in the woods whenever im not at Nationals themselves.

Thanks in advance and id love to see some of you who've helped me personally!
Old July 15th, 2016, 10:52 AM

Keith,
Here's a link for some information on the show. http://www.dixieoldsclub.com/kingsport-2016.html

If you haven't booked a motel room you probably will have a hard time finding one close to the venue. There are some rooms available within 10-15 miles which isn't too bad I guess. If you are only staying one or two nights there may be something closer.

My wife and I are heading down Wednesday morning around 8:00 and plan to be there around 2:00. If you are planning on going down that day maybe we can have a little caravan.

Bring cash because I'm sure most vendors don't accept plastic.

Bring comfy shoes cause you will put on some miles walking while drooling over all the cars.